Hotel Westend 2017-12-15T08:16:50+00:00

Welcome to Hotel Westend Nuremberg

Nuremberg metropolitan area

The metropolitan area of Nuremberg is made up of 23 districts and 11 urban districts between Kitzingen, Weiden in the Upper Palatinate, Hof, and Coburg, encapsulating a population of roughly 3.5 million. The city of Nuremberg, a key industrial location and cultural centre at the heart of the region, draws in thousands of tourists and business travellers every year.

There are countless historic sites, cultural highlights, and scenic attractions worth visiting all year round. The historic city centres of Nuremberg, Fürth, Erlangen, and Bamberg are famous well beyond the borders of the metropolitan region.

Culture and events

Culture and events

Nuremberg

Nuremberg’s event calendar is packed with a wide variety of cultural highlights all year round. Jesters take to the streets in February as part of the world’s oldest carnival parade. The Häferlesmarkt (Easter market), which began in 1424, is open in March and April. The spring festival in Dutzendteich draws in the crowds from April to May with its fairground rides, culinary offerings, and colourful programme. May sees the annual Blaue Nacht (blue night), the long night of art and culture. Rock, heavy metal, and indie music fans pour in to the city in June for the three-day music festival, Rock im Park, held at Zeppelinfeld.

June is also a good month for beer lovers, who come for the beer festival in Burggraben, which features offerings from many Franconian breweries The Classic Open Air is held from July to August in the scenic setting of Luitpoldhain. Another highlight in August is the SommerNachtFilmFestival with Open Air Cinema. The Altstadtfest in September is one of many folk festivals in Nuremberg. The world famous Nuremberg Christmas Market opens its doors in December for the Christmas season.

You can see an overview of all events in Nuremberg on the city’s website.

Fürth

During the summer months, visitors can explore the city streets as part of the “Stadtspaziergängen” (city walk) tours. The expert guide covers a variety of themes during the tour. For example, you will find out everything you need to know about Jewish life in Fürth, or you could even explore the city on a Segway. To find out about more exciting events, visit the city of Fürth’s website.

Erlangen

The Bergkirchweih and the Stadtteilkirchweihen are an annual tradition during the months of June and September. The city is famous among music fans for its annual “…am See” (…on the water) event programme in July. The historic and old town Christmas markets, as well as the “Erlanger Waldweihnacht”, draw in visitors in the winter. You can see an overview of all events in Erlangen on the city’s website.

Fair and Congress

Fair and Congress

The NürnbergMesse exhibition centre is located just a few kilometres from the hotel. With a total exhibition space of 170,000 m², the centre has hosted countless well-known events, such as the “Spielwarenmesse” international toy fair, the “Biofach” organic food fair, the “Freizeit Messe” outdoor pursuits fair, and the “Consumenta” consumer goods fair.

To see an overview of all the events at the exhibition centre, visit the NürnbergMesse website.

Attractions

Attractions

Nuremberg and surroundings

Imperial Castle of Nuremberg

The Imperial Castle is the symbol of Nuremberg and an absolute must-see for every visitor. The defensive tower offers a splendid view of the historic centre of Nuremberg. The double imperial chapel (c. 1200) is one of the oldest parts of the once highly significant castle complex, dating back to the Holy Roman Empire. The castle’s impressive casemate and the Deep Well are also well worth a visit, particularly as part of a guided tour. The exhibition offers clear explanations of the elements and function of the castle in their historical context and presents information about the Holy Roman Empire of the German Nation and the role of Nuremberg in the late Middle Ages.

St. Lorenz Church

The striking Gothic church was built in the mid-13th century and also gives its name to the southern part of the historic district. The church holds many important works of art, such as the Angelic Salutation by Veit Stoss and the monumental Tabernacle by Adam Kraft. While you’re there, you might also want to take a look at Nassauer Haus, the large medieval tower situated opposite the church.

Nazi party rally grounds and Documentation Centre

The Nazi party rally grounds around Dutzendteich are a must-see for every visitor. The grounds offer you an impressive and authentic insight into the era of Nazi dictatorship, the history of the Nuremberg rallies, and the Nuremberg trials. The Documentation Centre is housed in the Congress Hall, built to serve as a congress centre for the NSDAP but never finished. The grounds cover an area of around 11 sqaure kilometres.

Nuremberg Zoo

With its collection of rare animal species and wide variety of exotic habitats, Nuremberg Zoo, which is located in the eastern area of the city, offers something for animal lovers of all ages.

Playmobil FunPark

Located just 7 km from our hotel, Playmobil FunPark is the perfect place for a fun family day out. With exciting attractions, such as the Farm, Tree House, Dinosaurs, and Climbing Net, the park will appeal to children of all ages.

Fürth

The nearby picturesque city of Fürth is also worth a visit. Take a stroll through the historic centre around Gustavstraße, the Green Market, and the classic Italian-style town hall. The Jewish Museum of Franconia and the Stadtmuseum offer fascinating insight into the city’s history. If you’d prefer a more relaxing day trip, you might enjoy taking a stroll through the Stadtpark or a visit to the Fürthermare health and fitness centre with thermal baths and saunas.

Erlangen

If you’re interested in botany and culture, the city of Erlangen, around 20 km away, has much to offer. The botanical garden is particularly popular. Erlangen has more to offer besides the garden, including the decorative Baroque architecture of the Markgrafes Schloss with its orangery, gardens, and church.

Franconian Switzerland

Alongside the historic towns in the Franconian region, the area known as Franconian Switzerland is also worth a visit. Covering the area north-east of Nuremberg and Erlangen to the gates of Bayreuth, it was given this name on account of its characteristic mountainous landscape. Akin to a watered-down version of Switzerland, it is highly popular among hikers, climbers, cyclists, and mountain bike riders. Water sports are just as popular here, such as kayaking and canoeing through Wiesenttal. With its picturesque towns, impressive underground caverns, 170 medieval castles and ruins, steam train, and summer toboggan run, the idyllic area of Franconian Switzerland has much to offer. Visitors can also delve into the history of jeans at the Levi Strauss Museum in Buttenheim or admire Paul McCartney’s bass guitar and the smallest playable violin at the Geigenbaumuseum (Museum of Violin Making) in Bubenreuth.

If you’re interested in exploring Franconian Switzerland, the Franconian Switzerland tourism website offers a great overview of activities and recommended tours.

Location / How to find us

Our hotel is located in an easily accessible area between Nuremberg and Fürth at the north-western edge of Nuremberg. The centres of both of these cities are easy to reach by car or public transport. Fürth, which is just 3 km away, is also easy to reach on foot. The city of Erlangen is around 20 km away.

Our hotel is closely linked to the A73 motorway (1.5 km), the Südwesttangente road (2 km), and the airport (8.1 km). You can get to the NürnbergMesse exhibition centre from us in around 20 minutes by car or 30 minutes by public transport.

There is a bus station nearby on Karl-Martell-Straße (250 m) as well as the Muggenhof underground station (1.1 km).

  • 2,3 km

  • 4,5 km

  • 6,0 km

  • 1,0 km

Book now
X

All of our rooms have bathrooms with a shower / WC and hair dryer, as well as a desk, DDD telephone, TV, and fax / WiFi connection.

We offer exclusive rates for long-term guests. Find out about our special reduced-rate weekend offers.

 

Book now!

Hotel Westend

Herzlich willkommen im Hotel Westend Nürnberg

Metropolregion Nürnberg

In 23 Landkreisen und elf kreisfreien Städten zwischen Kitzingen, Weiden in der Oberpfalz, Hof und Coburg beheimatet die Metropolregion Nürnberg rund 3,5 Millionen Einwohner. Als wichtiger Wirtschaftsstandort und kulturelles Zentrum zieht die Stadt Nürnberg im Herzen der Region jährlich Tausende Touristen und Geschäftsreisende an.

Zahllose historische Sehenswürdigkeiten, Kulturhighlights und Naturschönheiten in der Region sind das ganze Jahr über einen Besuch wert. Die historischen Altstädte von Nürnberg, Fürth, Erlangen und Bamberg sind weit über die Grenzen der Metropolregion hinaus bekannt.

Kultur & Events

Kultur und Events

Nürnberg

Als Veranstaltungshochburg bietet Nürnberg das ganze Jahr über vielfältige kulturelle Höhepunkte. Im Februar ziehen die Narren beim weltweit ältesten Fastnachtszug durch die Stadt. Im März und April findet bereits seit 1424 der Häferlesmarkt (Ostermarkt) statt. Von April bis Mai lockt das Frühlingsfest am Dutzendteich mit Fahrgeschäften, kulinarischen Speisen und buntem Programm. Im Mai findet mit der Blauen Nacht die lange Nacht der Kunst und Kultur statt. Im Juni kommen Rock-, Metal- und Indie-Fans für 3 Tage beim bekannten Musikfestival Rock im Park auf dem Zeppelinfeld auf ihre Kosten.

Eine Gaumenfreude ermöglichen in diesem Monat ebenso zahlreiche fränkische Brauereien auf dem Bierfest im Burggraben. Von Juli bis August findet vor naturnaher Kulisse im Luitpoldhain das Klassik Open Air statt. Ein weiterer Höhepunkt im August ist das SommerNachtFilmFestival mit Open Air Kino. Mit dem Altstadtfest öffnet im September ein weiteres Volksfest seine Pforten. Die Weihnachtszeit wird im Dezember traditionell mit dem weltbekannten Nürnberger Christkindlesmarkt eingeleitet.

Alle Veranstaltungen in Nürnberg können Sie auf der Webseite der Stadt einsehen.

Fürth

Im Rahmen von Stadtspaziergängen kann in den Sommermonaten die Stadt erkundet werden. Unter fachkundiger Führung stehen verschiedene Themen im Mittelpunkt. So erfahren die Teilnehmer zum Beispiel alles rund um das jüdische Leben in Fürth oder können die Stadt auf die etwas andere Art per Segway entdecken. Weitere Veranstaltungshöhepunkte werden auf der Webseite der Stadt Fürth aufgelistet.

Erlangen

Tradition haben in Erlangen die Bergkirchweih und die Stadtteilkirchweihen, die jährlich zwischen Juni und September ausgetragen werden. Bekannt ist die Stadt unter Musikfans ebenfalls für ihre im Juli stattfindende Veranstaltungsreihe „…am See“. Im Winter laden der Historische sowie der Altstädter Weihnachtsmarkt und die „Erlanger Waldweihnacht“ zu einem Besuch ein. Einen Überblick über alle Veranstaltungen erhalten Sie auf der Homepage der Stadt Erlangen.

Messe & Kongress

Messe und Kongress

Nur wenige Kilometer vom Hotel Westend entfernt liegt die NürnbergMesse. Mit einer Ausstellungsfläche von 170.000 Quadratmetern ist sie Austragungsort zahlreicher bekannter Messen, wie der „Spielwarenmesse“, „Biofach“, „Freizeit Messe“ und der Verbrauchermesse „Consumenta“.

Einen Überblick über alle Veranstaltungen im Messezentrum erhalten Sie auf der Webseite der NürnbergMesse.

Sehenswertes

Sehenswertes

Nürnberg und Umgebung

Kaiserburg
Ein Besuch des Nürnberger Wahrzeichens ist ein absolutes Muss bei einer Stadttour. Vom Wehrturm der Kaiserburg aus bietet sich Ihnen ein beeindruckender Blick auf die Altstadt. Zu den ältesten erhaltenen Teilen der ehemals hochbedeutsamen Kaiserpfalz in der Zeit des Heiligen Römischen Reichs gehört die kaiserliche Doppelkapelle aus der Zeit um 1200. Lohnenswert ist eine Besichtigung der Kasematten und des Tiefen Brunnens im Rahmen einer Führung. Eine Ausstellung vermittelt zudem Hintergründe über die Kaiserburg, das Heilige Römische Reich und die Stadt Nürnberg zur Zeit des Spätmittelalters. 

St. Lorenz Kirche
Die schmuckvolle gotische Kathedrale wurde um die Mitte des 13. Jahrhunderts errichtet und ist Namensgeber des südlichen Teils der Altstadt. Sie beherbergt bedeutende Kunstwerke wie der Engelsgruß von Veit Stoß und das Sakramentshaus von Adam Kraft. Lohnenswert ist zudem die Besichtigung des gegenüberliegenden mittelalterlichen Turmhauses Nassauer Haus.

Dokumentationszentrum Reichsparteitagsgelände
Ein Highlight ist der Besuch des ehemaligen Reichsparteitagsgeländes am Dutzendteich. Besucher erhalten hier eindrucksvolle, authentische Einblicke in die Zeit der NS-Diktatur, die Geschichte der Reichsparteitage und die Nürnberger Prozesse. In der riesigen zu damaliger Zeit errichteten, aber unvollendeten Kongresshalle liegt das Dokumentationszentrum. Das komplette Areal umfasst 4 Quadratkilometer.

Tiergarten Nürnberg
Mit seinen seltenen Tierarten und vielfältigen exotischen Lebensräumen verspricht der Tiergarten im Osten der Stadt einen abwechslungsreichen Aufenthalt für junge und alte Tierfreunde.

Playmobil Funpark
Der nur 7 km entfernte Playmobil Funpark ist das ideale Ausflugsziel für einen erlebnisreichen Familientag. Spannende Attraktionen wie der Bauernhof, ein Baumhaus, eine Dinowelt und ein Klettergarten bieten Spaß und Abwechslung sogar für die Kleinsten.

Fürth

Die nahegelegene, idyllische Stadt Fürth lohnt ebenfalls einen Besuch. Sehenswert ist hier besonders die historische Altstadt um die Gustavstraße, den Grünen Markt und das im klassizistischen Stil errichtete Rathaus. Interessante geschichtliche Einblicke gewähren außerdem das Jüdische Museum Franken sowie das Stadtmuseum. Erholung finden Sie bei einem Spaziergang im schönen Fürther Stadtpark oder einem Besuch im Erlebnis- und Thermalbad Fürthermare.

Erlangen

Für Botanik- und Kulturbegeisterte hat die rund 20 km entfernte Stadt Erlangen einiges zu bieten. Ein beliebtes Ausflugsziel ist der Botanische Garten. Darüber hinaus wartet auch Erlangen mit schmuckvoller barocker Architektur auf, darunter das Markgrafenschloss mit Orangerie, Schlossgarten und Konkordienkirche.

Fränkische Schweiz

Einen Besuch wert ist neben den historischen Städten in der Region Franken die sogenannte Fränkische Schweiz. Das Gebiet, das sich nordöstlich der Städte Nürnberg und Erlangen bis kurz vor die Toren Bayreuths erstreckt, erhielt seinen Namen durch seine charakteristische bergige Landschaft. Diese gleicht einer lieblichen Version der Schweiz und erfreut sich bei Wanderern, Kletterern, Radfahrern und Mountainbikern großer Beliebtheit. Auch zu Wasser kann die Fränkische Schweiz erkundet werden – zum Beispiel per Kajak oder Kanu durch das Wiesenttal. Mit sehenswerten kleinen Ortschaften, einer beeindruckenden unterirdischen Höhlenwelt, ganzen 170 mittelalterlichen Burgen und Burgruinen, einer Dampfbahn und einer Sommerrodelbahn hat die idyllische Fränkische Schweiz aber noch einiges mehr zu bieten. Daneben können Besucher etwa auf den Spuren der Jeanshose dem Levi Strauss Museum in Buttenheim einen Besuch abstatten oder die Bassgitarre von Paul McCartney und die kleinste bespielbare Geige im Geigenbaumuseum in Bubenreuth bewundern.

Wer die Fränkische Schweiz kennenlernen möchte, erhält einen guten Überblick über Aktivitäten sowie Tourenvorschläge auf der Webseite der Tourismuszentrale Fränkische Schweiz.

Lage und Anfahrt

Unser Haus liegt verkehrsgünstig zwischen Nürnberg und Fürth am Nürnberger Stadtrand Nord-West. Beide Innenstädte sind bequem per Auto oder mit öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln erreichbar. Das nur 3 km entfernte Fürth ist ebenfalls zu Fuß zu erreichen. In rund 20 km Entfernung liegt die Stadt Erlangen.

Unsere Lage ermöglicht außerdem eine schnelle Anbindung an die Autobahn A73 (1,5 km) und die Südwesttangente (2 km) sowie den Flughafen (8,1 km). Die NürnbergMesse ist in ca. 20 Minuten mit dem Auto bzw. in rund 30 Minuten mit öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln zu erreichen.

In unmittelbarer Umgebung befinden sich die Bushaltestelle in der Karl-Martell-Straße (250 m) sowie die U-Bahn-Station Muggenhof (1,1 km).

  • 2,3 km

  • 4,5 km

  • 6,0 km

  • 1,0 km

Sofort buchen
X

Alle unsere Zimmer verfügen über Bäder mit Dusche/WC und Fön. Sie sind alle mit Schreibtisch, Direktwahltelefon, Fernseher und Fax/W-LAN-Anschluß ausgestattet.

Für Langzeitmieter bieten wir individuelle Raten. Informieren Sie sich über unsere günstigen Wochendsonderpreise.

Jetzt Online-Buchen!